Astaro User Bulletin Board
Go Back   Astaro User Bulletin Board > Astaro Gateway Products > Mail Security: SMTP, POP3, Antispam and Antivirus

Welcome to the Astaro User Bulletin Board.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-29-2009, 07:04 PM
BAlfson's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 5,388
Default Reporting fraud to MelbourneIT

Can any of the Aussies on here tell me how to get the attention of these folks?

I have searched in vain for a place on thier site for someone to submit a complaint about a domain name that violates trademark and copyright laws. I was ticked off because it was obviously con artists trying to get me to sell them stuff on account.

One of the subsidiaries of Cascio Music Company joined me in submitting a report via email a month ago, but no action has been taken.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Cheers - Bob
__________________
ACE V7 - Astaro Preferred Partner since V3
Addicted to my iPhone!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-30-2009, 11:14 AM
RFCat_vk's Avatar
Wizard
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 2,550
Default

Hi Bob,
their coporate arm is in the US, the AU arm is for small companies and individuals.
I will get the e-mail address of the US arm for you tomorrow.

We had a similar problem with a mob in HK sending a renewal request to our marketing lady, we just handed the whole box and dice over to our VP in charge of intellectual property. We do manage our own AU domains.

Ian M
__________________
Home Power User unlimited licence - v7.50x - AMD X2 5050e with 2gb,1 intel NIC, the onboard NIC and netgear gs108t with vlans.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-01-2009, 05:08 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 445
Default

About the only thing you can do Bob is to retain an attorney in their host country to send a cease and desist letter. Of course when you do this, you have to be willing to take it to court if they ignore the letter, which can be a very expensive proposition.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-02-2009, 10:20 AM
Simon Shaw's Avatar
Aussie moderator.
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 2,628
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BAlfson View Post
I have searched in vain for a place on thier site for someone to submit a complaint about a domain name that violates trademark and copyright laws. I was ticked off because it was obviously con artists trying to get me to sell them stuff on account.
What's the domain in question?

If it's a .com.au domain, then they should not be able to register it without a valid ABN. (Australian Business Number).
An ABN is issued to any company paying tax basically. Any domain registered has to be substantially similar to the company name associated with the ABN.

If they have a valid ABN and company name IS similar to the registered domain name, you'll have a hard time fighting it. You would have to show a trademark registered in the countries concerned etc etc.

We had a domain name stolen from us by an unscruplous business partner and because they had our company name registered we were basically stuck until we get a trademark ruling in that country.

With domain names, ownership is 9/10ths of the law. Unless you are Sony or Coca Cola or someone and can afford to send hired goons around with writs.

I get tons of spam from Asia asking me to esnure I register .cn .hk domain names etc because, "Some XYZ company wants to register them soon".

It's basically a modern version of Nigerian spam email and can be safely ignored.
(Especially when some of the domains they mention are ALREADY registered with another company).
__________________
Simon Shaw
Systems Manager
Micromine PL

Intel 2.66GHz Quad Core, 4GB (2 x 2GB) PC-6400 800Mhz 4-4-4-12, WD 300GB 10K RPM VelociRaptor, Intel Pro/1000 Quad Port PCI-X
http://www.sputcorp.com/
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-02-2009, 03:17 PM
BAlfson's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 5,388
Default

MelbourneIT seems to be the registrar of choice for this type of criminal. They register a domain name from a fake address in the US and pretend they're an existing US company. Something like CocaColaInc.com so they can pretend they're CocaCola.com. Then, they proceed to "buy" things on credit or with stolen credit cards.

I'll suggest your idea to Cascio, Simon.

Cheers - Bob
__________________
ACE V7 - Astaro Preferred Partner since V3
Addicted to my iPhone!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 12:46 AM.

 

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.


These pages are specifically maintained for the discussion of firewall issues within the Open Source community, and might already reflect new alpha/beta releases under development. Please refer to our product specifications for the functionality of the actual release. Discussions of new/enhanced functionality does not constitute a commitment of Astaro, to integrate this functionality into future releases. issues within the Open Source community, and might already reflect new alpha/beta releases under development. Please refer to our product specifications for the functionality of the actual release. Discussions of new/enhanced functionality does not constitute a commitment of Astaro, to integrate this functionality into future releases.